New Orleans Neighborhoods


Within the City of New Orleans, there are 73 New Orleans Neighborhoods, and 13 Planning Districts.  "The 73" refers to the City Planning Commission's official map of New Orleans neighborhoods, which has its roots in the 1974 federal Housing and Community Development Act.  Several of our neighborhoods are named for the people that originally lived there such as Claude Treme, which is now Treme, and Bernard de Marigny, which is now “The Marigny.”  Each neighborhood offers something different.